Russia 2018: In-depth look at World Cup final draw (All You Need to Know)

JS1 Entrance Examination Online Practice Tests, Registration - Click Here!

Live Updates: 2019 Governorship, Houses of Assembly elections (Nation-Wide)

The 2018 FIFA World Cup finals draw will be held on Friday at Moscow’s State Kremlin Palace concert hall from 4pm Nigerian time. Here are some of the key facts about the draw…

Qualified Teams
World Cup pots 

Pot 1             Pot 2           Pot 3            Pot 4
Russia          Spain          Denmark      Serbia
Germany      Peru            Iceland        Nigeria
Brazil          Switzerland   Costa Rica   Australia
Portugal       England         Sweden      Japan
Argentina     Colombia       Tunisia       Morocco
Belgium        Mexico          Egypt         Panama
Poland          Uruguay       Senegal       South Korea
France         Croatia          Iran            Saudi Arabia

Draw Hosts
The 2018 FIFA World Cup draw will be hosted by former England striker Gary Lineker and Russian sports journalist Maria Komandnaya.

Read Also  Premier League: Everton 0 Manchester United 2 - Match Report (See Photos, Video)

The hosts will be assisted by representatives from each of the eight nations to have won the World Cup. They are Laurent Blanc (France), Gordon Banks (England), Cafu (Brazil), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Diego Maradona (Argentina), Carles Puyol (Spain) and Miroslav Klose (Germany) among others.

Download e-books for education and research for FREE - Click Here

Top Seeds
Russia, as the host country, along with Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland and France are the highest-ranked teams in the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking in October 2017.

Procedures for final draw
The four pots will be emptied by drawing the eight teams they each contain one by one and placing them in the eight groups of four teams (Groups A to H). Hosts Russia will occupy the top position in Group A, while the seven other seeds will occupy the top spots in Groups B to H.

Click Here to Join Newsnow Nigeria WhatsApp Group for Breaking News Alerts

The positions of all the other teams (from pots 2, 3 and 4) will be decided when they are drawn.
As is customary at Final Draws, a ball will be drawn from the team pots and then another from the group pots to determine the position in which the team in question will play.

Read Also  NFF Extends Rohr's Contract By Two Years

With the exception of UEFA, which has more qualifiers (14) than there are groups (8), no teams from the same confederation can be drawn in the same group.

World Cup Newcomers
Panama and Iceland will be making their debut at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. Central American nation Panama qualified for their first World Cup by defeating Costa Rica 2-1 in their final group game to qualify for first ever World Cup tournament. President Juan Carlos Varela declared a national holiday following their victory while Iceland sealed a place in Russia with a 2-0 win over Kosovo in Reykjavik.

Big time losers
Four-time World Champions Italy are the biggest team missing out on the World Cup party in Russia. The Azzuri lost 1-0 on aggregate to Sweden in the European playo-ffs. Also, the Netherlands failed to qualify, missing out on the play-off spot to Sweden with an inferior goal difference from Group A of the European qualifiers.

Get the latest BREAKING NEWS inside your e-mail address inbox; fill the form below and click the subscribe button
English Premier League – Fixtures, Results and Table - Click Here Nigeria Premier Football League – Fixtures, Results and Table - Click Here
Read Also  Arsenal Celebrates Iwobi’s World Cup Ticket-Winning Goal, Congratulates Nigeria

In the CONCACAF region, the United States were eliminated from the race after they suffered a shock 2-1 defeat by Trinidad & Tobago. It is the first time since 1986 that they will not compete at a World Cup.

The Ivory Coast, Cameroon and Ghana are the biggest casualties from Africa to miss out while in South America, Chile missed out on the final play-off spot on goal difference to Peru.

Russia 2018 World Cup Stadiums
Twelve stadiums will be in used for the 2018 Russia FIFA World Cup. These are Luzhniki Stadium, Spartak Stadium, Kazan Arena, Zenit Arena, Fisht Olympic Stadium, Rostov Stadium, Central Stadium. Others are Ekaterinburg Arena, ‎Cosmos Arena, Nizhny Novgorod Stadium, Samara Arena and the Mordovia Arena.


Do You Know Nigeria? Attempt 10 simple questions on Nigeria for FREE and Win FREE N500 Airtime - Click Here to Participate!

For your news articles, press release, Breaking News, send e-mail to [email protected]